Mental Illness Happy Time!

Good Morning.

I have posted a lot about work recently so I thought I’d write a quick post to share some little things that I find soothing and entertaining, particularly if I’m in a challenging headspace. I love eavesdropping and people watching, so I guess this is why I love podcasts. Particularly podcasts that are both funny, conversational, and talk about real shit. Here are a couple I like:

WTF with Marc Maron – I (and all of the listeners of this podcast) have gotten to know Maron quite well over the years. Maron is an American stand-up comic, writer, thinker, and now actor, starring in his own eponymously named show on IFC. He started this podcast in September 2009 as an angry and energetic reaction to the juncture he had reached in his life – he just needed to get his voice out there after some career (and life) lows.

Over the years he has interviewed hundreds of entertainers and comics. Unexpectedly, creating and evolving this show has opened his heart in many ways – made him a somewhat more compassionate person, and helped him grow in different ways (truly listening and connecting with people in an honest way has that effect 🙂 ). Maron is a damaged, funny, flawed, egoic, yet strangely empathic human, and I find his conversations with his guests fascinating, amusing, moving and – pardon the phrase – deep. I won’t tune in for anything less.  Listen to the latest podcast with Billy Connolly here.

Mental Illness Happy Hour with Paul Gilmartin – this is heavy listening, and not for the faint hearted, but strangely therapeutic for those of us who have experienced the black dog and find catharsis in hearing others admit to thought processes we may have experienced and found shameful or isolating. The courage of the guests in opening up about the darkness in their heads is fucking heroic. I was introduced to Gilmartin via WTF podcast, and was struck by this guy’s balls out honesty, his ability to articulate things about his depression experiences I could totally relate too, and his sincerity. I like the guy. And he favourited my tweet yesterday. More on his podcast:

The show is geared towards anyone interested in or affected by depression, addiction and other mental challenges which are so prevalent in the creative arts.

Paul’s hope is that the show and this website will give people a place to connect, smile and feel the return of hope. The biggest myth about mental illness is that you are alone and there is no help.

Help starts with talking to someone who knows exactly how you feel. So stop staring out the window with your jaw open thinking about what might have been. Open up. Read the message board. Post stuff. Ask for help. Give help. Take a survey so we can get to know mental illness better.

This site is not intended to replace the need for medical diagnosis.  Please leave that to professionals.  It’s not a doctor’s office. Think of it more as a waiting room that doesn’t suck.”  See more here.

Girl on Guy with Aisha Tyler – I literally just discovered this podcast but I can tell I’m going to like it already. Gosh she’s fun, intelligent, articulate… an interesting and interested host. I’m in. And you know how I found out about her podcast? Paul Gilmartin was on podcast 129 this week, which you can listen to here.

Aishatee

About Pauline Vetuna

paulinevetuna.wordpress.com

Posted on March 7, 2014, in Comedy, Creativity, Depression, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

