Photographs.

I’m working on an article for StellaMag for their Valentine’s Day issue, reflecting on relationships, et cetera… and am consequently looking over old photographs of Mum and Dad for inspiration. My parents have been married for 43 years (which blows my mind, as I can’t imagine even being able to do that). They have four children, and have had their ups and downs (as you can imagine… a lot of stuff can happen in 43 years, especially if you get married really young. Their courtship was less than a year long, too!)

LEFT: Mum Helen, at 17 (1968). I could tell by her pose that Dad took this photo, before they were married (she confirmed this later). RIGHT: Dad Pearson, in 1966, during a work trip to Sydney. You can tell whom I inherited my build from.

LEFT: Mum Helen, at 17 (1968). I could tell by her pose that Dad took this photo, before they were married (she confirmed this later). RIGHT: Dad Pearson, in 1966, during a work trip to Sydney. You can tell whom I inherited my build from.

But they endured, and healed, and grew, and continue to do so. To me, the best relationships are like an “asana” – a spiritual practice that stretches you in the right ways. The only reason I would “marry” someone would be if it aided my soul~evolution (‘cause that’s the only thing I’m truly married to, quite frankly).

My Dad wrote this the day before their 42nd anniversary:

It’s been 42 years!

Because of the time and place they came up in, they don’t have a lot of photos of themselves, or even family, before the 1970s. I cherish the few we have.

 __________________________________________________________________________________________________

Just found out this week what my surname, Vetuna, actually means – roughly translated from our language, Kuanua, it means “tell it like it is” or “tell it, really”.

Keeping it real 😉 Yay! Sister arrives today! I’ve barely slept! Yay!!!

About Pauline Vetuna

paulinevetuna.wordpress.com

Posted on December 15, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

