BIG DESIGN MARKET & MARYANN TALIA PAU | BIRDS OF PARADISE EXHIBITION | MARIAA RANDALL ‘HALF’ DANCE PROJECT

Greetings!

I really feel like I’m in summer holiday mode now. Since I experience everything from the inside out, ‘summer holiday mode’ basically means that my blood has slowed down and I am the little book of CALM (though my “work” schedule is pretty much the same). The wonderful thing about being inwardly centred is that the most familiar things are experienced as magnificentI could be buying groceries and feel like I’m in a tropical oasis 🙂

Got a couple of important things to post about before the new year (NDIS, mental health system, etc) but in this quickie post I want to share just a few of the magnificent things that were a part of my week, in no particular order. If you get a chance to, do take yourself along to experience them too.

So, Yesterday afternoon I hung out with a sista and visited another who had a stall at the BIG DESIGN MARKET (finishes Sunday):

Big Design bags

building

marketing

Big Design

My friend/weaver/Goddess Maryann Talia Pau‘s stall 🙂 :

Maryann Talia Pau stall

maryann talia pau card

Maryann and Taloi!

Maryann and Taloi!

Always love hanging out with Sistas.

But the other reason I enjoyed the market so much is because I am currently absorbing design inspiration. The indoor/outdoor area extension on our house will likely be completed over summer, and it will include my new office! Rolling around the building site this week, I started picturing what this new centre of my universe might look like.

I do know that I want the space to inspire me creatively, be uncluttered and spare, yet still contain some bursts of colour (for the positive psychological effect). I will likely achieve this atmosphere with colour and light. And my need for colour and sensitivity to lighting means that I get totally turned on when I see something like this:

Lighting inspiration

Yep. Lighting fetish, since ’98.

My preference is for really simple (even plain) furniture, combined with just a few high quality colourful objects – especially, these days, if they have spiritual and Pacifika/Papua New Guinean symbolism. So I’m thinking designing my own lamps/lighting for the space, as well as creating indigenous art (or acquiring some from the many talented Pacific ceramicists/weavers/makers and visual artists in networks) is the way to go.

New office means I will also finally get to renew and re-do my bedroom (and get a new bed). Strolling around Big Design, I found a lot of inspiration (fabrics, textiles, etc) for that project, as well as a few lamp designers (Phoebe Lamps and Patturn Studio) who added fuel to my imagination in terms of what I could use lighting wise. I want to incorporate Papua New Guinean craft techniques I’m now learning, and designs, in the space. Making things with my hands gets me out of my head, and as a Writer I need that to balance – I tend to live in my head too much.

Other than inspiration, I picked up just two objects, that I actually need. I acquired a new iPad (i.e. workday) bag on sale, from Only Midge/Attic (every other day I’ll be carrying bilums only). Strangely the hue of this bag seems to really compliment all the purple & purplish-pink things in my wardrobe:

Resting on one of my technicolor scarves...

Resting on one of my technicolor scarves… the bag is actually more mauve-grey than it looks here!

I also got a wide-brimmed hat for my summer – I LOVE IT! Comfortably accommodates my Afro boof head and successfully shielded me from the Sun all Friday (and will today as well):

Big big hat.

Big big hat.

I’m going to wear this daily this season. Hat is from Truffaux. Hat tip, Truffaux!

In the evening, we saw this affecting, poetic piece of dance theatre – Master of Animateuring Dance Project : ‘HA LF’. Invited by dancer Mariaa Randall, the creator behind this (we had wanted Mariaa to do a performance with another talented dancer at the So Fukin Native Exhibition opening, but alas, something came up).

And lastly, I wish I had photos of this, because this is a stunning exhibition – Birds of Paradise at the Melbourne Museum, running until 3 February. Me and a bunch of friends + community mob + my Mama were invited to the opening tour this week, and I will be going back soon to take it in properly. Has also generated a bunch of article ideas, and I met once again a ukelele teacher/vanilla importer/fascinating young arts practitioner who was a fellow student in a bilum making workshop I recently did at COLOUR BOX STUDIO (by the way – some of the designers featured at CBS, including the interior designer of Colour Box Studio, have stalls at the Big Design Market too).

So, if you want to slot some more things in this weekend, check out any of the above.

Peace and love 🙂 Back very soon with a new topic and new post.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

Looking forward to Léuli Eshraghi’s solo show this week! A solo show of his own paintings! La manuia…

About Pauline Vetuna

paulinevetuna.wordpress.com

Posted on December 8, 2012, in Art, Design and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

