The Second Tree.

A sleepy, late happy Sunday to you 🙂 I was rather low on energy today – my body was telling me to take it easy and refill my energy reserves (and recover from an irritating and unexpected hangover) so I’ve just been reading, listening to music and weaving a Christmas gift for one of my nieces.  And reflecting on things. Hence this post.

Latest news is I got married this week. No, wait… that came out wrong.

I acquired a symbol of the one thing I am truly, truly married to in life… and will be until I return to dust.  A necklace. A special, handcrafted necklace.

I don’t own or wear a lot of jewellery – minimal makeup, comfortable clothing and a light perfume is my daily preference. But I decided to acquire this particular necklace to wear, as a reminder to myself of what I am now aware is – and have simultaneously chosen to be – my #1 priority in life.

Something I cannot yet completely articulate, but will spend the rest of my life living…. It’s the one thing that makes me truly happy, and lucky, however unlucky my circumstances may appear from the outside:

tree

Some say that 28 years is the age when you truly become an adult, and come into your own. Individuate. For me this “adulthood” has manifested as an awareness, and acceptance of the perfectly imperfect Woman I am. A clarity about the way I wish to live my life, how to be, and what I am choosing to evolve into.

Since I am genuinely too tired right now to try to explain in my own voice what I mean by that (life stuff has drained me of all energy this week, sorry) I thought instead I’d share a few ideas that point in the direction of that evolution. Just a few… and just the direction. (You would have seen some of them on this blog before. I will expand in future posts in one way or another).

Change from within:

“To straighten the crooked, you must first do a harder thing – straighten yourself.”

Buddha.

The Gift:

“The intuitive mind is a sacred gift and the rational mind is a faithful servant. We have created a society that honors the servant and has forgotten the gift.”

Albert Einstein.

The Servant:

“Analysis brings no curative powers in its train; it merely makes us conscious of the existence of an evil, which, oddly enough, is consciousness.”

Henry Miller.

A Whole Perception:

“The major problems in the world are the result of the difference between how nature works and the way people think.”

Gregory Bateson.

Living simply:

“The affirmation of simplicity arises from the recognition that very little is needed to live well – that abundance is a state of mind.”

Simplicity Collective.

Ego versus Eco:

“The human brain now holds the key to our future. We have to recall the image of the planet from outer space: a single entity in which air, water, and continents are interconnected. That is our home.”

David Suzuki.

Brechtian Politics:

“The worst illiterate is the political illiterate, he doesn’t hear, doesn’t speak, nor participates in the political events. He doesn’t know the cost of life, the price of the bean, of the fish, of the flour, of the rent, of the shoes and of the medicine, all depends on political decisions […] from his political ignorance is born the prostitute, the abandoned child, and the worst thieves of all, the bad politician, corrupted and flunky of the national and multinational companies.”

Bertolt Brecht.

 

…and my personal dharma…

Creativity:

“Anyone can make the simple complicated. Creativity is making the complicated simple.”

Charles Mingus.

Storytelling:

“Story talent: the creative conversion of life itself to a more powerful, clearer, more meaningful experience.”

Robert McKee.

Art:

Art is spirituality in drag.”

Overheard at an exhibition opening.

Flow:

“Your task is not to seek for Love, but merely to seek and find all the barriers within yourself that you have built against it.”

Rumi.

The centre:

“By letting go it all gets done.”

 Lao Tzu.

 __________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Though it is after midnight on Monday (early morning), this is a Sunday post, as I wrote it at a quarter to 12 – so technically I kept my word! I’m going to try to get a good nights rest now, eat a hearty breakfast, and do a solid cardio workout in the morning. This lethargy shit doesn’t sit well with me.

 

Back soon, hopefully when ENERGISED again.

Gratitude to David Weitzman for my “marriage” necklace.

 

2 Comments on “The Second Tree.”

  1. […] even as I pursue goals in the world. That is the perspective through which I view everything now. My #1 priority is sorted – I couldn’t care less about “making it”… I want a soulful […]

  2. […] myself of everything false, is its own reward – it really is. So, in my 28th year, I chose THIS – no secret, no hidden agenda… just me: The Second […]


Leave a Reply

