The Creative Life.

“To live a creative life, we must lose our fear of being wrong.”

Joseph Chilton Pearce

I generally don’t publish my imaginative creative writing here. My focus on Just The Messenger is the kind of creativity the late Steve Jobs talked about, when he once said that “creativity is just connecting things”. I started this blog as a way of forcing myself to create content on a (semi) regular basis. At the time, I hardly ever used the Internet. I use it slightly more now, but I am still learning.  I had a very vague intuitive vision of what I wanted to create in life, and what I wanted to write about. As my creative and spiritual impulses converge, that vision is becoming more focused. My job now is to do the work, be practical, be grateful, and make the most of the opportunities I have.

Last year, much of what I wrote on Just The Messenger was either political or personal – as it was a difficult year, I vented quite a bit! Throughout the year, I questioned a lot whether I made the right choice about pursuing a creative, communicative, writing path. I succumbed to the negative voices within, and my self-esteem took an epic battering. FEAR TOOK HOLD. One side of me was totally clear, determined, focused. The other side was intent on undermining my faith in myself, and in life in general. Many times, that side won the battles. But it has not won the war.

Thankfully, the regeneration that occurred over summer healed many of the self-inflicted wounds of those battles. Through meditation, creative pursuits, therapy and self-education I gained clarity of vision, and calm. I remembered why it was I wanted to pursue this path in the first place. Once I realised this consciously, the anxiety about my financial situation gradually melted away. And, more recently, the FEARS I have had about a creative and artistic career have begun to die. Essentially, I know I am on the right path, because I chose it. I chose it because I value creative expression, vision, sharing ideas and enlightened thinking more than anything. These are my passions. And passion is what makes my life worth living – gives my life quality and meaning.

So, whilst I don’t have a lot of money, I want for nothing. I refuse to let fear dictate my choices. As long as I am able to create, learn about what fascinates and enriches me, share this with others, and just be myself, I will love my life.

 

New post soon! Unexpectedly busy schedule for the last few weeks. Even tighter schedule to come, but I’ll endeavour to remain consistent with quality posting. THANKYOU for reading.

“Remembering you are going to die is the best way to avoid the fear that you have something to lose.” – Steve Jobs.

About Pauline Vetuna

paulinevetuna.wordpress.com

Posted on February 19, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Pauline I always get a flush of happy anticipation when I see that there is a new JTM post ino my inbox. You express things that are important to me so powerfully, and shamelessly! Just wanted to let you know how much I look forhtward to reading your posts and how they make me thoughtful and reflective on, well the meaning if life. Mine, yours and everyones. Just what good writing is supposed to do. So while you are fluffing around wondering about your raison d’etre, you are already doing it!! Thanks so much. From one very grateful fan.

Leave a Reply

