Charlie Bravo Foxtrot

I have a severe case of CBF this week – my studies, film projects and life/mental health/energy-stabilising activities are all consuming at the moment. Even as the world, and apparently time itself, stopped for the Royal Wedding (which I missed/know nothing about) and exhaled after the death of the United State’s #1 enemy (“or DID he?”). Indeed, I seem to be doing nothing but editing, filming, writing, and thinking about work at this point in time… as it should be. Considering this is the life path I am following.

So today I’m re-posting something I published last year (26/4/’10)… my fourth post. God knows what I was blathering about!!! 

I kid. Still studying screenwriting, storytelling, and the art of film. Still believe in it, and love it even more. Only now with a more focused vision and greater clarity. 

I’ll publish a new post next week. So much to write about…

BTW. Check out the new theme/facade! Attractive, yes? Called “Mystique”. Indeed.


The power of Story (why I want to write)

This is the moment I started not just wanting to be a storyteller, but actually started believing in it.

It was a while ago. Screenwriting had been a fantasy of mine for a long time. I’d enjoy movies and television programs and immediately afterwards think “That’s what I want to do”.

Many people feel that way after taking in a great film or watching a show that moves them in some way. Instinctively I think we all know that there is something truly magical about great storytelling. Stories can help us make sense of things, communicate things, and help us understand things in a way that the daily monotony and ceaseless activity of our lives cannot.

One day, I was listening to a radio interview with Robert McKee, and trying to decide whether I should follow my dream or play it safe. I didn’t know who he was, other than that there was a fictionalized version of him in Charlie Kaufman’s film Adaptation… and that character was quite the asshole. Observe:

But the Robert McKee on my radio that day was less asshole and more wise and seasoned teacher. He described storytelling as a noble enterprise:

“When the storytelling in a society goes bad, the result is decadence. So you need wonderfully honest insightful comedies and dramas to look into the dark corners of human nature and give human beings equipment for making sense out of their lives and themselves”.

Great stories, apart from entertaining us, also civilise us, by creating understanding.

I don’t know why, but I haven’t been able to get those words out of my head since. Shortly after, I decided to apply to study Screenwriting, to formally learn my craft from scratch, so that I can be the best storyteller I can be.

And that’s what I’m doing now.


About Pauline Vetuna

paulinevetuna.wordpress.com

Posted on May 5, 2011, in Character, Storytelling, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I’m feeling ya! CBF is going around at the moment. I am only on the second day of my “sew for 15mins” plan and I’m already feeling exhausted and overloaded, lol! I’ll go do my Feldy in a minute and get moving, but it’s amazing how such a little change can feel so big.

    I know what you mean about wanting to tell stories! It has always been my passion. I remember patiently typing away on my grandmother’s old typewriter, assuming I would be an author someday. During teenagedom I thought I wanted to tell stories on film, then later on stage, but I’m back to words…(although if I can beat this chronic illness I am going back to the stage, pronto!!)

    Feel better soon 🙂 xx

    • Thanks Hayley 🙂

      Hopefully the feldy helped! I’ve starting a new exercise regime to get my ass moving and energy flowing again.

      And I can tell from your blog your passion for storytelling and the written word. One of the reasons I love reading your blog. xx

  2. you slack bitch. reposting. cbf! give us some words woman!

    i was greatly disappointed! tho the original post was cool.

    ha!

    but maybe its good to reflect on what we have written before.

    im busy too but really want to see ya soon,
    xx
    d

  3. I feel so awful for not getting by here for awhile. I love your blog and the interesting posts you put up, but got so bogged down with school in those last couple months of the semester that everything else seemed to take a backseat. I saw where you liked one of my last posts and knew it was your way of checking up on me, lol. Now that the semester is over, I started a new blog to promote Indie writers. It took off fast after posting about it on Amazon and has become almost a full time job. The writers are great and a lot of fun. I have a ton of books to read now as well. In a conversation, I mentioned your blog a few days ago (maybe close to a week). Some people came over to check it out so you might have seen more traffic coming from an Amazon forum.

    My name is now linked to the new blog though the old one is still up. You are welcome to stop by. I actually got tagged today and mentioned you again on there. I’m really glad you are studying for the screenwriting, it certainly sounds like the right thing for you. I will try to catch up on some more of your threads in the coming days. I know I missed a lot. Hope you are doing well!

    • Not to worry Susan!

      I discovered your new blog on my own and have linked it on mine already 🙂 All I can say is WELL DONE! I’m following. And thanks for the mention, that explains a lot.

      I’m on holidays, it’s winter here… and I’m going to be reading and writing and drinking lots of hot chocolate for a few weeks. Nice to here from you and glad you are well.

  4. I’m glad you found the blog then. Thanks for checking it out. I’m having a lot of fun meeting Indie writers and it is a nice alternative for them since Amazon has banned them from mentioning their books on any of the forums now except at the new “Meet the Authors” forum. It’s some new way to keep the Indies from publicizing their work as the big publishers are getting annoyed that readers are turning to these new sources of writing.

    I figured you might wonder at the extra blog hits but appreciate having some new people stop by. Hope you are enjoying your holiday. Hot chocolate is always good!

Leave a Reply

